7 books that helped me grow as social media professional

Everyday you may find in your newsfeed book suggestions either to improve your life, quite your job, become superman or simply better at work, in my case as social media manager.

I can’t claim to be an avid reader, however whatever I learn from non-fiction books I try to put immediately into practice (actually I do that with everything I pick up somewhere). As soon I realize that it’s to theoretical to do so, I (unfortunately) loose interest. The following books mean two things to me: first, they provide applicable know-how, second, I continue to use them as a reference thanks to Kindle Cloud Reader.

Social Media ROI by Olivier Blanchard

I discovered Blanchard’s Social Media ROI while preparing a workshop about social media marketing. His exhaustive approach showing the impact of social communication in an organization is easy to read and extremely hands-on. I’m still using some of the graphs to show the difference between campaigning vs. the aim to building long-lasting relationship with customers.


Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance

It might look strange to find this book here, but to me Elon’s story inspires and motivates me to stay focused and try harder on what I believe in, particular if related to my job. If Elon managed to disrupt and redefine three industries (financial, automotive and space) I can manage to do my part even if in a slight smaller scale, which doesn’t mean it’s less important.


The Hero and the Outlaw by Margaret Mark and Carol S. Pearson

Lately I did a lot of research to explain better moderation styles for community managers through archetypes. The framework provided trapped my attention. The Hero and the Outlaws aims to enable efficient communication of brand meaning and value through stories and characters that are part of collective nature. To give you an example: does the apple of Apple remind you anything?


Buzzing Communities by Richard Millington

With Buzzing Communities, Richard Millington makes look Community Management so easy, straight forward and secure. It isn’t, as the reality with our Recipe Community teach me. However that doesn’t diminish the value of this book. The strategy framework and the pro-active approach to everyday community management is simply awesome and very much applicable.


Getting things done by David Allen

Getting things done or GTD is not just a methodology to become more productive and less stressed in life. It enabled me to rethink the way I managed tasks in order to develop a better more efficient way. Even if it’s not exactly David Allen’s method, I achieved some of the benefits (which compared to the bare chaos means a lot). So start with downloading your brain by writing down everything that matters to you.


MSP Survival Guide for Business Change Managers by Rod Sowden

Managing Successful Programmes (MSP) is best practice guide on Programme Management based on three concepts: MSP principles, governance themes and transformational flow. The survival guide by Rod Snowden in particular is fun reading without missing to provide great applicable knowledge. As self-appointed business change manager, it’s helping me tremendously in connecting benefits from my area of competence to the business and to focus on the outputs that shall enable the benefits.


Drive: The surprising truth about what motivates us by Dan Pink

One of my most favorite non-fictional books I read this year! Drive by Dan Pink takes you on a journey from motivation 1.0 to motivation 3.0 as it would be an operation system upgrade, trying to understand why Wikipedia succeeded where MSN encarta failed, how social process affects and shape economic activities and why growing artistic, empathetic and non-routine work will require what he calls motivation 3.0.


Reading right now

So here is my actual reading list:

  • TEDtalks Storytelling by Akah Karia
  • Start With Why by Simon Sinek
  • PR im Social Web (German) by MC Schindler and Tapio Liller

Any other book you would recommend to me?

Leave a Reply

